Main Content

Federal-State Storm Aid Expanded In New York

Release date: 
August 25, 2000
Release Number: 

Albany, NY -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the New York State Emergency Management Office (NYSEMO) announced today an expansion of the assistance available because of this year's storms and flooding.

At the request of Gov. George E. Pataki, FEMA today took the following actions:

  • Added six counties to the Presidential disaster declaration issued on July 21for assistance to governments and non-profit agencies. The added counties are Columbia, Dutchess, Livingston, Sullivan, Ulster, and Yates.

  • Extended the time period during which damage or losses from storms and flooding would be eligible for assistance. The original period was from May 3 to June 30. Because areas of the state continued to be affected by the same storm system, the end date of that period has been extended to August 12.

"Different counties have different needs," said Marianne C. Jackson, federal coordinating officer for the disaster recovery effort in New York. "These additions to the declaration were made following a review of information regarding costs and damages as a result of a series of severe storms and flooding that began on May 3 and continued through Aug. 12."

Today's amendment to the disaster declaration makes public assistance programs available to local governments and certain nonprofit organizations in the additional counties of Columbia, Dutchess, Livingston, Sullivan, Ulster and Yates. Federal funds will be provided to cover 75 percent of the eligible costs of restoring damaged public facilities and for approved projects that mitigate future disaster losses. State and local governments can apply for federal funds on a cost-shared basis for approved projects.

Today's additions bring to 27 the number of New York counties eligible for some type of state and federal disaster assistance, noted Edward F. Jacoby, Jr., Director of the New York State Emergency Management Office.

Counties now designated for public assistance now include Albany, Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chenango, Columbia, Dutchess, Erie, Essex, Herkimer, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Orleans, Otsego, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, and Yates.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: