Disaster Recovery Center Available to Assist Flood Victims

Main Content
Release date: 
July 18, 2000
Release Number: 

Minneapolis, MN -- A temporary Disaster Recovery Center will be available in Eagan to serve victims of the severe storms and flooding in Dakota County, state and federal officials announced. The center will provide disaster assistance applicants an opportunity to receive more detailed information about various relief programs, flood insurance, and methods of reducing future flood damage.

The location and days of operation are:

July 20, 21 and 22
10 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Eagan City Hall
3830 Pilot Knob Road

Applicants who visit the center can meet face to face with representatives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), and other federal, state, local and volunteer agencies. They can get information on a wide range of assistance programs including disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants from the Individual and Family Grant Program.

"FEMA has a very easy application process," Ted Monette, FEMA's federal coordinating officer, said. "People should first call in on 1-800-462-9029, or 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing and speech impaired, to apply for federal and state aid - and all it takes is about 20 minutes. The Disaster Recovery Center will give people who have already registered more information on the types of assistance available."

Those who have already applied and want to check on the status of their application or want to provide updated information can call the toll-free Helpline number at 1-800 525-0321 or 1-800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired. Both the application line and the Helpline are available 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

The Disaster Recovery Center is available to everyone, however, individuals must reside, work or do business in the declared disaster area of Dakota County to be eligible for federal and state disaster assistance.

Programs available to eligible applicants include:

  • Disaster Housing Assistance, administered by FEMA, for individuals and families whose homes were destroyed or made unlivable as a result of the disaster. The program provides funding for temporary accommodations or repairs needed to make a home safe, secure and habitable.

  • Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters or business owners for the repair, replacement or rebuilding of disaster-damaged property.

  • Grants through the Individual and Family Grant program for people who have serious immediate needs resulting from the disaster that cannot be met by other sources.

  • Technical advice on common-sense ways to minimize losses in future disasters.

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance providing weekly benefits to those individuals out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm owners, and others not covered under regular unemployment benefits.
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top