Main Content

Compensation for Costs of January's Snowstorm Nears $12 Million

Release date: 
March 7, 2000
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Nearly $12 million is on its way to 31 North Carolina counties blanketed by January 24-25's record-breaking snowfall. The President's disaster declaration on Jan. 31 made the counties eligible for reimbursement of eligible costs through the Public Assistance Program of the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Under the terms of the declaration, local governments and private, nonprofit agencies can be compensated for expenses associated with snow and debris removal, the restoration of public utilities, and emergency protective measures, such as search and rescue, safety barricades and signs and emergency road repairs.

"January's massive snowstorm overwhelmed the resources of the state and local governments," said Carlos Mitchell, FEMA's federal coordinating officer. "FEMA's Public Assistance Program provides supplemental resources to areas devastated by unexpected natural events such as the snowstorm."

The counties eligible for public assistance are Alamance, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, Northampton, Orange, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Scotland, Stanly, Union, Vance, Wake, and Warren.

The President's declaration did not include authorization for individuals to apply for aid.

The Public Assistance Program reimburses eligible entities at a rate of 75 percent federal, 25 percent non-federal.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:26
State/Tribal Government or Region: