Main Content

FEMA to Give States $39 Million For Unmet Disaster Needs

Release date: 
January 12, 2000
Release Number: 

Washington, DC -- Fifteen states will be receiving nearly $40 million, as directed by Congress, to address disaster-related needs not met by federal disaster relief programs.

FEMA Director James Lee Witt said the funds will be allocated to the states for distribution in communities - including Native American tribes - that experienced Presidentially declared major disasters between January 1 and May 21, 1999.

The states receiving the funding are: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Georgia, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas and Wyoming. Previous disbursements in 1999 for unmet needs totaled $189.6 million.

The Emergency Supplemental Appropriations Act designated that the funds be used for disaster relief, long-term recovery, disaster mitigation or buyout assistance. Witt encouraged the state's emergency managers to use the funds "in a way that helps bring about a more disaster resistant nation."

To qualify for the funding, each state must submit an application package to FEMA outlining their proposed use of the funds.

A formal announcement with full details of this funding was published in the January 10th Federal Register.

Last Updated: 
March 29, 2016 - 20:05
State/Tribal Government or Region: