Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers to Close in Three Counties; Applicant Information Still Available by Phone

Main Content
Release date: 
October 22, 1999
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- Three FEMA/New York State Disaster Recovery Centers, which have been bringing face-to-face information to victims of Tropical Storm Floyd in Rockland, Putnam and Westchester counties will close by Oct. 30. Disaster assistance applicants will still be able get information about their application through the FEMA Disaster Assistance HELPLINE: 1-800-525-0321.

The centers have been operating from several locations in the counties since Oct. 1. The schedule for the final week of operation is as follows:

  • Putnam County - Mahopac Village Center, Rt. 6, Mahopac, on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, Oct. 25, 26 and 27 from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

  • Westchester County - Ossining Community Center, 95 Broadway, Ossining, on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, Oct. 28, 29 and 30 from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. This center will be open for three days only at this location.

  • Rockland County - Clarkstown Town Hall, 10 Maple Ave., New City, on Monday through Saturday, Oct. 25-30, from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Individuals, homeowners, renters and business owners in designated counties who need help because of Tropical Storm Floyd should first register for assistance by calling FEMA toll-free, 1-800-462-9029. Those with hearing- or speech-impairments can call TDD 1-800-462-7585. The 11 New York State counties designated eligible for individual assistance are Albany, Dutchess, Essex Greene, Orange, Putnam, Rensselaer, Rockland, Schenectady, Ulster and Westchester. The deadline for applying is Nov.17.

After they have registered, applicants can visit any of the centers or call the FEMA Disaster Information HELPLINE at 1-800-525-0321 (TDD 1-800-660-8005) to find out about assistance programs and the status of their applications. The HELPLINE will continue to be available to answer applicants' questions after the centers close. Both the toll-free registration line and the HELPLINE are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week.

Disaster assistance programs include housing assistance, grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs, and low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for disaster-damaged residential or business property. Disaster unemployment assistance, tax assistance and other special services are also available to eligible persons affected by the disaster.

To find out the status of an SBA disaster loan application or for more information about SBA loans available to disaster victims, call 1-800-659-2955.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top