Pacific NW Communities Receive Rate Reductions

Main Content
Release date: 
October 6, 1999
Release Number: 

Seattle, Wash. -- Property owners in selected communities in Oregon, Idaho and Washington State are paying less for flood insurance, as of  October 1, 1999.  According to FEMA regional director David L. de Courcy, that's thanks to special efforts by Northwest communities participating in FEMA's National Flood Insurance Program Community Rating System (CRS).

"The CRS rewards communities that voluntarily take steps to reduce the risk of flooding, and increase the effectiveness of flood protection, above and beyond those minimum actions required for participation in the National Flood Insurance Program," explains de Courcy.  "Such activities can fall under one or more of the following categories:  Mapping and Regulations, Flood Damage Reduction, Flood Preparedness or Public Awareness."

Flood insurance premium reductions resulting from "above and beyond the minimum" initiatives run in five percent increments, from five percent to 45 percent.  Class ratings range from Nine to One.  The higher the flood protection activity, the lower the Class rating.

Fourteen Pacific Northwest CRS communities earned additional flood insurance premium reductions of five or ten percent for their residents:

  • Moscow, Mountain Home, Pocatello, Sun Valley, and Bannock and Blaine Counties (Class Eight), and Ada and Valley Counties (Class Seven) in Idaho
  • Cannon Beach (Class Seven), and Roseburg (Class Eight) in Oregon
  • Centralia, Renton and Lewis County (Class Seven) and Everson (Class Eight) in Washington

Nearly 4.2 million flood insurance policies are currently in force in more than 19,000 communities across America that participate in the NFIP.  Nationally, over 900 communities now benefit from membership in the Community Rating System. 

Last Updated: 
July 19, 2012 - 23:02
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top