Main Content

Hunterdon County Eligible for Disaster Aid

Release date: 
September 30, 1999
Release Number: 

PISCATAWAY, N.J. -- Hunterdon County has been added to the list of New Jersey counties eligible for federal disaster assistance following flooding from Tropical Storm Floyd, federal and state disaster recovery officials announced today. Pete Martinasco of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) made the designation following a review of additional information regarding damages incurred due to Tropical Storm Floyd.

The designation means that residents of Hunterdon County are eligible to apply for disaster assistance, which could include disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property or grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures.

The addition of Hunterdon County brings to nine the number of New Jersey counties eligible for the individual assistance programs authorized as a result of the major disaster declaration issued by President Clinton September 18, 1999, following a request by Governor Christie Whitman. Other counties eligible for disaster assistance under the Presidential disaster declaration are: Bergen, Essex, Mercer, Middlesex, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, and Union.

All residents and business owners who sustained losses from the tropical storm in the designated counties can begin the disaster application process by calling 1-800-462-9029, or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: