Main Content

Federal Disaster Assistance Expanded in New York

Release date: 
September 24, 1999
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- In response to Gov. George E. Pataki's request, Essex County has been added to President Clinton's disaster declaration for New York State. Assistance available to governments and eligible non-profit organizations in Orange, Putnam, Rockland and Westchester counties has been expanded.

Renters, homeowners, business owners or other people who were impacted by Tropical Storm Floyd in Essex, Orange, Putnam, Rockland and Westchester counties should register with FEMA by calling, toll-free, 1-800-462-9029. TDD service is available at 1-800-462-7585 for anyone who is hearing or speech impaired. The registration numbers are available from 7:00 a.m. to midnight, seven days a week until further notice.

Governments and eligible non-profit organizations in all five counties are now eligible for the full range of federal infrastructure assistance. This assistance may include 75% of the costs to repair and replace damaged infrastructure such as roads, bridges, water control facilities such as dams and levees, public buildings, public utilities and public recreational facilities to their pre-disaster condition. This assistance also includes money to reimburse eligible costs for emergency protective measures and debris removal.

Local governments will be able to apply at upcoming briefings with locations and times to be coordinated by the New York State Emergency Management Office.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:58
State/Tribal Government or Region: