Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Salt Lake City

Main Content
Release date: 
August 19, 1999
Release Number: 

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Utah Comprehensive Emergency Management (CEM) are opening a Disaster Recovery Center in Salt Lake City at noon on Thursday, August 19.

Disaster Recovery Center
Episcopal Jubilee Center
309 East 100 South
Salt Lake City, Utah

The center will be open until 6:30 on Thursday. From Friday on it will be open 11 a.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday-Friday, 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. on Saturdays, and closed on Sundays. However, Federal Coordinating Officer Steve Olsen emphasized that the first step for people with tornado losses is to call FEMA to register for assistance.

"Before visiting the recovery center, individuals with losses from the tornado should call 1-800-462-9029 to register for assistance," Olsen said. "The recovery centers are primarily a source of information after you have registered for assistance."

According to Earl Morris, who heads Utah's office of Comprehensive Emergency Management and is serving as State Coordinating Officer for the tornado recovery, there will be representatives from a variety of state and federal agencies at the DRC to answer questions.

"At the DRC you can meet face to face with representatives from FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration, and a number of state agencies working on the disaster recovery. The DRC staff can answer questions you may have about the types of assistance that may be available from both state and federal agencies," Morris said.

Assistance programs that may be available to eligible applicants include:

Disaster Housing Assistance, administered by FEMA, for individuals and families whose uninsured or underinsured homes were destroyed or made unlivable as a result of the tornado. The program provides funding for temporary accommodations, or for repairs needed to make a home safe, secure and livable.

Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters and business owners for the repair, replacement or rebuilding of disaster-damaged property.


Grants through the Individual and Family Grant program, administered by the state, for people who have serious immediate needs resulting from the disaster that cannot be met by other sources.

Technical advice and common-sense strategies to minimize losses from future disasters.

The Disaster Recover Center is open to everyone, and state and voluntary agencies may be able to provide assistance to a wide variety of tornado victims. However, under the disaster declaration signed by President Clinton at the request of Governor Leavitt only residents and business owners in Salt Lake County are eligible for federal disaster assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top