Main Content

Toll-Free Disaster Registration Number Now Available

Release date: 
June 10, 1999
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has opened a toll free telephone number -- 1-800-462-9029 (TTY 1-800-462-7585) -- for North Dakotans to register for disaster assistance, state and federal recovery officials said today.

President Clinton declared 34 North Dakota counties and three Indian reservations federal disaster areas Tuesday because of severe storms, flooding, tornadoes, ground saturation, snow and ice, landslides and mudslides starting March 1, 1999 and continuing.

Federal Coordinating Officer Lesli A. Rucker of FEMA said, "The registration line opened at 8 a.m. this morning (Wednesday) for North Dakotans affected by the disaster conditions and residing in one of the designated areas.

"The toll free line will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week," she added.

State Coordinating Officer Adjutant General Keith D. Bjerke said, "It's a simple and easy process," he said. "Expect to spend about 20 minutes with an operator explaining your situation and your needs."

The designated areas are: Barnes, Benson, Bottineau, Burleigh, Cass, Dickey, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward and Wells and the Indian reservations of the Spirit Lake Tribe, the Three Affiliated Tribes and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

Start the registration process by calling toll free 1-800-462-9029 (TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing and speech impaired). The hours of operation are 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:26
State/Tribal Government or Region: