Main Content

Federal Assistance Approved for two More Iowa Counties

Release date: 
June 9, 1999
Release Number: 

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- Two more Iowa counties are now eligible for federal disaster assistance in the wake of storms, flooding, and tornadoes, May 16-29.

The addition of Montgomery and Scott brings the number of Iowa counties eligible for federal aid to 15. They are Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Clayton, Clinton, Crawford, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Harrison, Jones, Linn, Montgomery, and Scott.

Scott County was designated eligivle for the Federal Emergency Management agency (FEMA) Individual Assistance Program. Individuals and businesses may now apply for a variety of programs including grants to help pay for temporary housing, minor home repairs, and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will also be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

"Iowa residents who sustained damage from this violent weather should register for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free number," said State Coordinating Officer Steve Zimmerman. The number is 1-800-462-9029. TTY service is available at 1-800-462-7585 for anyone who is hearing- or speech-impaired. The registration numbers are available 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, until further notice.

Montgomery County was designated eligible for FEMA's Public Assistance Program. Under this program, governmental entities in these counties can apply for help with eligible costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore or replace facilities owned by certain private, nonprofit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care or other essential governmental service facilities

The first step toward providing assistance to communities for repairing damaged public infrastructure is for community officials to submit a Request for Public Assistance. Potential applicants should contact the Iowa Public Assistance officer at 319-221-7085. According to FEMA officials, 75 percent of the costs of eligible approved projects will be reimbursed by federal funds. The State of Iowa will pay 10 percent and the applicant the remaining 15 percent.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:58
State/Tribal Government or Region: