Titus County Added to Tornado Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
May 21, 1999
Release Number: 

TEXARAKANA, Texas -- Titus County has been included in the federal disaster declaration following the May 4 tornadoes that also severely impacted Bowie and Red River counties. Sharon Stoffel, Federal Coordinating Officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), announced the designation following a review of additional information regarding damages incurred in Titus County.

"The tornado effects were equally felt by many residents of Titus County, and we are pleased to now be able to offer federal and state program assistance to those affected," Stoffel said in making the announcement.

"The toll-free application telephone number can be used to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs, such as funding for disaster housing assistance, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for renters, homeowners, and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs," Ed Laundy, State Coordinating Officer, said.

Anyone in the three declared counties impacted by the tornadoes may apply for assistance immediately by calling toll-free 1-800-462-9029 between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. daily. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call TDD 1-800-462-7585. After registering by telephone, applicants may secure additional information by visiting the Disaster Field Office at the DeKalb Middle School between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday. The Disaster Recovery Center will be closed on Memorial Day, May 31.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top