Main Content

Colorado Damage Assessments Continue

Release date: 
May 20, 1999
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Preliminary Damage Assessment (PDA) teams of state and federal officials continue their work in Bent, El Paso, Larimar, Otero and Weld counties. Early reports indicate considerable public infrastructure damage also may have occurred in Baca, Crowley, Custer, Fremont, Kiowa, Las Animas, Morgan, Pueblo and Teller counties.

Under the major disaster declaration, federal officials are working closely with the State to identify emergency requirements. The severity of damage in the town of La Junta (Otero County) and widespread impact in the northern counties, the Disaster Housing Program will be required to meet long-term housing needs.

A State/Federal Disaster Field Office (DFO) will open in the Colorado Springs area this week. FEMA and State representatives are also working on locations for Disaster Recovery Centers.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:59
State/Tribal Government or Region: