Andrew, Iron, Macon and Osage Counties Eligible for Federal Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 5, 1999
Release Number: 

ST LOUIS, Mo. -- Residents and business owners in four more Missouri counties who suffered damages from early April severe storms and flooding, now are eligible for state and federal disaster assistance, recovery officials announced today.

Carol Coleman, federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), designated the counties of Andrew, Iron, Macon and Osage for disaster assistance from April 3-14 storms.

Two weeks ago, residents and business owners in Madison County (Missouri) became eligible for disaster assistance after President Clinton declared the state a major disaster area.

Residents and business owners in all five counties are urged to apply for assistance by calling, 1-800-462-9029. For those who are hearing- or speech-impaired, the registration number is: (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. The calls are free and should be made from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday.

"I encourage residents and business owners in Andrew, Iron, Macon, Madison and Osage counties who sustained damaged from the severe storms and flooding to call the FEMA registration number and apply for assistance," said Jerry B. Uhlmann, director of State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA).

Callers will be asked to provide their name, social security number, address of their damaged property, type of damages, and a telephone number where they can be reached to schedule a visit from a damage assessment inspector.

The assistance programs include: grants for short-term rental needs, grants to make minimal home repairs, low-interest U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property, grants for serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other programs, and disaster unemployment assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top