Disaster Application Period Ends Tuesday but Applicants Can Still Reach FEMA by Calling the Helpline at 1-800-525-0321

Main Content
Release date: 
March 19, 1999
Release Number: 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Tuesday, Mar. 23, 1999 is the last day for residents and business owners in the 15 Arkansas counties designated disaster areas to apply for disaster assistance, according to Federal Coordinating Officer Graham Nance and State Coordinating Officer David Maxwell.

The 15 counties -- Clay, Faulkner, Grant, Greene, Independence, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lonoke, Miller, Monroe, Poinsett, Pulaski, Saline, St. Francis and White -- were declared disaster areas by President Bill Clinton following the severe storms, tornadoes, high winds and flooding in January.

Individuals and business owners who sustained damage in the designated counties and who still have not applied for assistance may call the toll-free registration number at 1-800-462-9029, through 5 p.m. on Mar. 23. The registration number for hearing- or speech-impaired persons is 1-800-462-7585.

"Even after the deadline FEMA will still be only a telephone call away," Nance said. Applicants may reach FEMA by calling the Helpline at 1-800-525-0321. Helpline representatives are available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays, to answer questions about the assistance process or the status of applications. The TTY Helpline number is 1-800-660-8005.

Vic Moerbe, Officer in Charge for the U.S. Small Business Administration, said applications for long-term, low-interest physical disaster loans from SBA must be returned to SBA and postmarked by Mar. 23, but businesses that may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans have until Oct. 25, to apply.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top