Main Content

Eleven More Illinois Counties Added To List Eligible For Federal Snow Emergency Assistance

Release date: 
January 20, 1999
Release Number: 

Please Note: This emergency declaration does not cover snow removal or repair costs for individuals or business owners.

CHICAGO, Ill. -- Eleven more counties have been added to the snow emergency declaration issued by President Clinton January 8 bringing the total to 45 Illinois counties now eligible for federal disaster assistance following the severe snowstorm earlier this month, federal and state disaster recovery officials announced today.

The new counties eligible to apply for emergency assistance include Bureau, Calhoun, Greene, Henry, La Salle, Mercer, Morgan, Putnam, Sangamon, Scott, and Vermilion.

The Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA), which administers funding assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), made the request on behalf of the eleven counties after reviewing additional information from the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration and other sources regarding "record" or "near record" snowfall for these areas. FEMA officials concurred and made the designation.

Under the presidential emergency disaster declaration, affected local governments and certain private non-profit organizations in these counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs, during a 48-hour period, for snow removal equipment operations, contract personnel and equipment, and overtime for permanent personnel. Related emergency protective measures such as sanding and salting, search and rescue, shelter operations, and police and fire departments' response may also be eligible for reimbursement.

IEMA is conducting information briefings for local officials. State and federal representatives explain what costs are eligible, how to report equipment/personnel information, payment procedures, and answer any questions that local officials may have concerning the assistance program.

"By helping these communities with their emergency costs, we are helping every taxpayer in the area," Lawrence L. Bailey, federal coordinating officer for FEMA, said. "However, this emergency declaration does not cover snow removal or repair costs expenses for individuals or business owners."

President Clinton approved the emergency declaration on January 8, within hours of receiving a request from the Governor's Office. Thirty-four counties in central and northern Illinois were then designated for federal assistance because they had received a "record" or "near record" snowfall.

Eligible counties now include: Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Cass, Champaign, Cook, DeWitt, DuPage, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Iroquois, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Knox, LaSalle, Lake, Livingston, Logan, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Morgan, Peoria, Piatt, Pike, Putnam, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Tazewell, Vermilion, Warren, Will, and Woodford.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: