Main Content

Severe Storms and Flooding Recovery Update Kansas City Metropolitan Area

Release date: 
November 14, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Federal, state, local and voluntary agencies are working in partnership to help Missouri and Kansas residents following President Clinton's disaster declarations in both states for the severe storms and flooding that occurred in early October.

The following is a summary of ongoing response and recovery efforts by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) and the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM) and is current as of Nov.12, 1998.

FEMA Teleregistration Hours Change for Missourians

Toll-free registration for disaster victims in Missouri has been scaled back to five days a week, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Registration is the first step in beginning the disaster assistance process. The toll-free registration number is 1-800-462-9029. People who are hearing- or speech-impaired can call TTY: 1-800-462-7585.

For Kansas disaster victims, the registration hours of operation are from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

Deadline Announced for Disaster Assistance Applications

December 14 is the last day applications for disaster assistance for the October storms will be accepted through the FEMA toll-free registration number in both Kansas and Missouri. October storm victims in both Kansas and Missouri are urged to call 1-800-462-9029 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585) to register for assistance, including disaster housing assistance, low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and grants for serious unmet needs.

Questions about your application? Call the FEMA Helpline!

Once they have registered, applicants can call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-525-0321,(TTY: 1-800-660-8005) for program information or to check the status of their applications. The Helpline is available both for Missouri and Kansas storm victims from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday.

Quick Return Urged For SBA Loan Applications

Disaster recovery officials are urging Missourians and Kansans who received SBA loan applications when they registered for assistance, to return the applications to the SBA as soon as possible. Officials point out that the sooner the applications are returned to SBA, the sooner money for rebuilding may be available.

Applications for long-term, low-interest physical damage disaster loans from SBA also must be filed by December 14, but businesses that may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans have until July 14, 1999 to apply.

SBA representatives will be at the federal-state Disaster Recovery Center in the Argentine Community Center, 2810 Metropolitan Ave. in Kansas City, Kansas, to answer questions and help loan applicants fill out their loan forms. The center is open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday-Saturday

More Counties Eligible For Disaster Aid

Communities in five more Kansas counties-Bourbon, Jackson, Leavenworth, Linn and Wabaunsee-have been designated eligible for federal reimbursement of 75% of approved costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration and replacement of disaster-damaged public facilities. Leavenworth County was previously designated eligible for disaster assistance to individuals and business owners.

In Missouri, Cedar County has been added to the list of counties eligible for the same Public Assistance Program.

Federal Assistance Approved For Infrastructure Repairs

The first project applications have been approved for rebuilding storm-damaged infrastructure. FEMA's Public Assistance Program provides 75% federal reimbursement to communities for eligible costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration or replacement of disaster-damaged public facilities....

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: