Main Content

St. Louis Flood Recovery Summary

Release date: 
November 7, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Federal, state, local and voluntary agencies are working in partnership to help Missouri residents following the July severe storms and flooding that occurred in St. Louis city and county. The following is a summary of ongoing response and recovery efforts as of Nov. 6, 1998.


On Oct. 19, President Clinton signed a major disaster declaration for Missouri because of severe storms and flooding in July. The City of St. Louis and St. Louis County, along with Jackson County in western Missouri, were designated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as eligible for disaster assistance to individuals and business owners.


  • As of Friday, (Nov. 6) 1,312 Missourians in the City of St. Louis and St. Louis County had applied for disaster assistance through FEMA's toll-free registration line. In that same time period, 539 applications had been received from Jackson County.

  • The registration number is 1-800-462-9029. Persons with hearing or speech impairments can call TTY 1-800-462-7585. The registration lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday.

  • Disaster Housing checks, totaling more than $562,100, have been approved to assist storm victims in St. Louis city and county in making minimal home repairs and/or to pay for temporary housing until repairs can be made. Disaster housing checks generally are being issued seven to 10 days after the application is received by FEMA.

  • Individuals and families are beginning to receive checks through the Individual and Family Grant Program (IFG) administered by the State of Missouri and funded largely by FEMA. To date, grants amounting to $129,000 have been approved for St. Louis city and county and for Jackson County. IFG grants are designed to help with the costs of serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other programs.

  • FEMA inspectors have completed more than 1,375 inspections of storm-damaged properties in the City of St. Louis and St. Louis County. The inspections, required to verify damages to determine eligibility for disaster housing assistance, are generally being completed three to five days after applications are received through the toll-free registration line.

  • The Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) at 64 Northland Center in St. Louis will close for one day on Sunday, Nov. 8 but will reopen Monday at 9 a.m. Missourians who have already applied for assistance by calling the toll-free registration line can visit the center to talk face-to-face with recovery specialists about their own specific situations. The center will be open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday of this week. The center will close permanently at 6 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 14.

  • Missourians in the City of St. Louis and St. Louis County, who became unemployed because of the July storms, have only until Nov. 20 to apply for disaster unemployment assistance. The program extends coverage to people who would otherwise be ineligible for unemployment compensation, including agricultural and hourly paid workers, salaried employees, the self-employed and other categories of workers not included in the regular unemployment program. Claims for disaster unemployment assistance should be filed at the Missouri Dept. of Labor and Industrial Relations office nearest the applicant's home.

  • After registering for disaster assistance, applicants can call the FEMA disaster information Helpline to check the status of their applications or get additional information. The toll-free Helpline number is 1-800-525-0321 or TTY 1-800-660-8005 for persons with hearing-...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: