President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for the Commonwealth of Kentucky

Release Date: 11? 27, 2024

WASHINGTON – FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance is available to the Commonwealth of Kentucky to supplement recovery efforts in the areas affected by remnants of Hurricane Helene from September 27-30, 2024.

Public Assistance federal funding is available to the state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Hurricane Helene in Anderson, Bath, Bell, Bourbon, Bracken, Breathitt, Carter, Clark, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Greenup, Harlan, Harrison, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Lee, Letcher, Lewis, Magoffin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Owsley, Powell, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Washington and Wolfe Counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Mary Hernandez-Marrero?has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further assessments.

