alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Italiano. Visit the Italiano page for resources in that language.

Congressional Subcommittees

The NAC may establish subcommittees and working groups for any purpose consistent with its charter. Subcommittees and working groups may not work independently from the NAC and must report their recommendations and advice to the NAC for full deliberation and discussions. Subcommittees and working groups have no authority to make decisions on behalf of the NAC and may not report directly to the Administrator or any other entity.

The NAC has six sub-groups for 2024:

  • Readiness/Workforce Subcommittee
  • Climate Subcommittee
  • Gender-Based Violence Subcommittee
  • Emergency Management Reimagined Task Force [ad hoc]

FEMA currently has two Congressionally mandated subcommittees through the NAC, Planning for Animal Wellness Working Group and Preliminary Damage Assessment Advisory Panel. 

Previously, the NAC had two other Congressionally mandated subcommittees.