President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Emergency Declaration for New York

Release Date: November 21, 2022

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal emergency aid has been made available to the state of New York to supplement state, tribal and local response efforts to the emergency conditions in the areas affected by a severe winter storm beginning Nov. 18, 2022 and continuing.

The President's action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts, which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title 5 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, to save lives, protect property, public health and safety and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe. This assistance is available for Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Jefferson, Lewis, Niagara, Oneida, Oswego, St. Lawrence and Wyoming counties.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency. Emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, under the public assistance program will be provided at 75% federal funding.

Lai Sun Yee has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal response operations in the affected areas.

