President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for North Carolina

Release Date: Mas 4, 2021

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of North Carolina to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by Tropical Storm Eta from Nov. 12- 15, 2020.

The President's action makes federal funding available to the state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Tropical Storm Eta in Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Beaufort, Burke, Caldwell, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Edgecombe, Hertford, Iredell, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Stokes, Wilkes, Wilson and Yadkin counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Myra M. Shird has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of damage assessments.

