## Seven Additional Counties Now Eligible for Reimbursement of Disaster Expenses

Release Date: Jiyè 14, 2017

**JEFFERSON CITY, Mo.** – Seven additional Missouri counties are now eligible for reimbursement by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)'s Public Assistance (PA) grant program for expenses incurred as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding between April 28 and May 11, 2017.

The counties now eligible to apply for Public Assistance are Boone, Cape Girardeau, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Ste. Genevieve and Scott.

Through the Public Assistance program, FEMA provides supplemental federal grants for debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures and the repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain private nonprofit organizations. The Public Assistance program also encourages protection of these damaged facilities from future events by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during the recovery process.

The federal share of assistance is not less than 75 percent of the eligible cost.

These counties are in addition to the following 46 counties already eligible for PA assistance: Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Camden, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Cole, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Iron, Jefferson, Lawrence, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Morgan, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Perry, Phelps, Pike, Pulaski, Ralls, Reynolds, Ripley, Saint Louis, Shannon, Stone, Taney, Texas, Washington, Wayne, Webster and Wright.



Page 1 of 1