U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.

Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Flood Hazards of Special Concern

The mapping and regulatory standards of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) are general standards and do not address every flood problem in the United States. Certain floodplains and flood-related hazards are less common, more destructive and harder to map than riverine, coastal, alluvial fan, and shallow flooding. Special hazards include coastal erosion, tsunamis, closed basin lakes, uncertain flow paths, dam breaks, ice jams, and mudflows.

Communities should address these special hazards in their planning, public information, hazard disclosure, and flood warning programs.

Communities participating in the Community Rating System (CRS) that address these flood hazards can receive CRS credits for doing so.

National Flood Insurance Program Requirements

  • 60.0 - Criteria for Land Management and Use

Other Applicable NFIP Regulations

  • 60.1 (d) Community Responsibility
  • 60.4 - Mudslide
  • 60.5 - Erosion
  • 60.22 - Planning Considerations for Floodprone Areas
  • 60.23 - Planning Considerations for Mudslide-prone Areas
  • 60.24 - Planning Considerations for Flood-related Erosion-prone Areas
Glossary Section
NFIP - National Flood Insurance Program
Last updated Jul 8, 2020