Emergency Management Assistance Compact, an interstate mutual aid agreement which all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands have passed. The Compact contains 13 articles establishing a mutual aid system with, among other elements, provisions for jurisdictions to share their resources with one another during emergencies, give and receive reimbursement for shared resources, and give and receive liability protection for their officers and employees rendering aid in another jurisdiction. EMAC is similar to IMAC, except that IMAC is focused on mutual aid within a state or territory, and EMAC is focused on mutual aid between states and territories.

Last updated May 5, 2021