President Donald J. Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Kentucky

Release Date: Mai 23, 2025

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance is available to the Commonwealth of Kentucky to supplement recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds and tornadoes from May 16-17, 2025.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Caldwell, Laurel, Pulaski, Russell, Trigg and Union counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Jeremy Slinker has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated areas should first file claims with their insurance providers and then apply for assistance by registering online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov, by calling 1-800-621-3362 or by using the FEMA App. If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, provide FEMA the number for that service.

