Leslie, Magoffin, Martin, Whitley Counties Eligible for FEMA Assistance

Release Date: Août 5, 2022

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Leslie, Magoffin, Martin and Whitley counties are now eligible for FEMA assistance after flooding in Eastern Kentucky.

Individuals and households in Leslie, Magoffin, Martin and Whitley counties can apply for FEMA Individual Assistance, which may include temporary housing assistance, basic home repairs and certain other uninsured disaster-related needs.

These counties join Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Knott, Letcher, Owsley, Perry and Pike counties, which were previously approved for Individual Assistance.

Survivors in the designated counties can apply online at <u>disasterassistance.gov</u>, by calling 800-621-3362, or by using the <u>FEMA mobile app</u>. If you use a relay service, such as video relay (VRS), captioned telephone or other service, give FEMA the number for that service. When you apply, you will need to provide:

- A current phone number where you can be contacted.
- Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying.
- Your Social Security Number.
- A general list of damage and losses.
- Banking information if you choose direct deposit.
- If insured, the policy number or the agent and/or the company name.

Leslie, Magoffin and Martin counties had previously been designated in the major disaster declaration authorizing Public Assistance emergency protective measures, including Direct Federal Assistance.

For an accessible video on how to apply for assistance go to youtube.com/watch?v=WZGpWI2RCNw.



Flood survivors who apply for disaster assistance from FEMA may be referred to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for information on how to apply for a disaster loan. It's important to submit the loan application as soon as possible. If your application is approved, you do not have to accept the loan but failure to return the application may disqualify you from other possible FEMA assistance.

