Free Repair, Rebuilding Advice Available in Crawford County

Release Date: Juillet 22, 2017

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – As Missourians repair or rebuild their homes damaged by the flooding and severe storms that occurred April 28-May 11, 2017, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and home improvement stores in Crawford County are teaming up to provide free information, tips and literature on making homes stronger and safer.

FEMA mitigation specialists will be on hand to answer questions and offer home improvement tips along with proven methods to prevent or reduce damage from future disasters as well as offer tips and techniques to build hazard-resistant homes. Most of the information and the free publications provided are geared to do-it-yourself work and general contractors.

Recovery topics covered include flood insurance, elevating utilities and rebuilding flooded homes.

FEMA advisors will be available at the following store:

County	Location	Dates	Hours
Crawford	Cotton's Ace Hardware, 303 S. Franklin St., Cuba, MO 65453	July 24- 25 July 26	8 a.m. to 6 p.m. 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.



Free reference booklets with information on protecting a home from flood damage will be available. More information about strengthening property can be found at https://www.fema.gov/protect-your-property.

FEMA specialists can provide general information regarding flood insurance policies and offer technical assistance to aid in recovery. Disaster survivors and others can find a list of home improvement stores hosting FEMA mitigation specialists and their hours at https://recovery.mo.gov/.

To get in touch with FEMA, survivors may call the Helpline at 800-621-3362. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Services may call 800-621-3362. If 711 is unavailable use MO Relay 800-735-2966; CapTel 877-242-2823; Speech to Speech 877-735-7877; VCO 800-735-0135. Those who use TTY may call FEMA directly at 800-462-7585. Multilingual operators will be available. Operators are available from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. CDT seven days a week until further notice

The federal disaster declaration covers eligible losses caused by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding between April 28 and May 11, 2017 in these counties: Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Christian, Crawford, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, Texas, Wayne and Wright.

