alert - warning

Cette page n'a pas été traduite en Français. Visitez la page Français pour des ressources dans cette langue.

BRIC Direct Technical Assistance

Who is Eligible

How to Apply

Direct Technical Assistance (DTA) can provide holistic planning support at the earliest stages to communities that may not have the capacity to start on their own.

FEMA will provide support for mitigation planning, project and BRIC application-specific needs throughout the grant lifecycle from pre-application activities to closeout for DTA communities.

Bullhorn icon

FY 2021 Non-Financial Direct Technical Assistance Communities

This year, FEMA received more than 100 letters for non-financial Direct Technical Assistance. These efforts help communities sustain successful mitigation programs, submit high-quality grant applications to reduce disaster damage and carry out risk-reduction projects.

Read More

Who Is Eligible

  • Cities
  • Townships
  • Counties
  • Special District Governments
  • Consortiums of two ore more communities that fit the above criteria
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
Timeline showing the BRIC milestones
Download this infographic

How to Apply

Communities submit a request through this website.  FEMA will select requests for non-financial Direct Technical Assistance from those that are submitted no later than 3 p.m. Eastern Time on Jan. 27, 2023. The BRIC DTA form will be available here no later than Sept. 30, 2022, for completion and submission. 

There is no requirement for either a previous BRIC grant subapplication or award or an approved hazard mitigation plan to be considered for DTA.

alert - info

View sample information that will be required in the Direct Technical Assistance form.

Note: The information in the form is intended for guidance only and is not a request for information. The template is intended to help the reader understand the FEMA Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) non-financial Direct Technical Assistance (DTA) submission process.

How Assistance is Prioritized

FEMA will review each request and will prioritize assistance for communities that:

  • Have demonstrated a compelling need (e.g. communities with significant disadvantaged populations as referenced in EO 14008, communities with multiple major disaster declarations within the past 5 years, communities with limited funding, communities with strong engagement but lacking technical expertise etc.)
alert - info

Review the Program Support Material (PSM) for more information on DTA.