alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Français. Visit the Français page for resources in that language.

State/FEMA Disaster Recovery Center Opens on Cheyenne River Reservation

Release Date:
juin 24, 2019

PIERRE, S.D. – The State of South Dakota and the Federal Emergency Management Agency have opened a disaster recovery center on the Cheyenne River Reservation to offer in-person support to individuals and businesses impacted by the severe winter storms and flooding from mid-March to late April 2019. This follows previous openings in Minnehaha and Yankton counties, and the Pine Ridge and Rosebud reservations.

Representatives from the State of South Dakota, FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration, and other organizations are at the centers to explain available assistance programs and help connect survivors with resources that best match their recovery needs.

The Cheyenne River center is located at:

Cheyenne River Reservation Cultural Preservation Center98 S. Willow StreetEagle Butte, SD 57625 Hours of Operation are Monday through Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. local time.

The first step to receiving disaster assistance is to register. There are several ways to register:

  • In person at the Disaster Recovery Center.
  • Go online to or (for Spanish).
  • Use the FEMA mobile app in English or Spanish.
  • Call the disaster assistance helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or 800-462-7585 (TTY) anytime from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. local time seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.

All recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology to aid in communication. Survivors may follow these links to access informational videos in ASL:

The South Dakota counties now designated for Individual Assistance are: Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Hutchinson, Minnehaha, and Yankton; the Pine Ridge Reservation to include the counties of Oglala Lakota, Jackson, and Bennett; the Rosebud Reservation to include the counties of Mellette and Todd; and the Cheyenne River Reservation to include the counties of Dewey and Ziebach.