Survivors Who Are Not U.S. Citizens Could Be Eligible for Disaster Assistance

Release Date:
September 11, 2021

Survivors of Tropical Storm Ida, including those who are not U.S. citizens, may be eligible for disaster assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Residents of any of the designated counties for FEMA’s Individuals and Households Assistance Program – Bronx, Kings, Nassau, Queens, Richmond, and Westchester are encouraged to apply for assistance by going online at or by calling 800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585).

Help might be available to non-citizen nationals and qualified non-citizens. Their status will not be jeopardized by requesting disaster assistance.

A “qualified non-citizen” generally includes:

  • Individuals who are lawful permanent residents (Green Card holders).
  • Asylees, refugees, or non-citizens whose deportation status is being withheld.
  • Non-citizens paroled into the U.S. for at least one year.
  • Non-citizens granted conditional entry.
  • Cuban/Haitian entrants.
  • Certain non-citizens subjected to extreme cruelty or victims of a severe form of human trafficking, including persons with a “T” or “U” visa.

A parent or guardian who isn’t eligible may register for assistance on behalf of a child under age 18 who is a citizen, non-citizen national or qualified non-citizen. No information will be gathered on the adult’s status.

If you are unsure of your eligibility, FEMA will assist you through the process when you call. Alternatively, you may consult with an immigration specialist, prior to calling FEMA, to inquire if your immigration status meets the criteria for qualified non-citizen.

Additionally, homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes may be eligible for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration. They must be eligible U.S. citizens or qualified non-citizens and of legal age.

Applicants who are not eligible for assistance from FEMA may still receive assistance from private volunteer organizations and/or state and local governments.

Last updated May 18, 2022