U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

Recovery Update – Kentucky Storms

Release Date:
June 3, 2021

FEMA Individual Assistance In Person Help Available; Federal Assistance Tops $23.7 million for Kentucky

FEMA staff will be available to meet in person with Kentucky survivors affected by the severe storms and flooding to answer questions and help with their disaster assistance applications at Individual Assistance Registration Support Centers in Breathitt, Johnson and Powell counties June 5, 7 and 8.

Representatives will be at the locations below to offer an easy and COVID-safe way to assist with FEMA registration, answer questions about appeals and scan documents into applicants’ case files. Masks or face coverings are required for entry and service.


FEMA Individual Assistance Registration Support Centers





Powell County

Clay City Church of God

June 5, 7, 8

4200 Main Street, Clay City, Kentucky 40312

Breathitt County

Old Montessori School

June 5, 7, 8

422 Jett Drive, Jackson, Kentucky 41339

Johnson County

City of Paintsville Tourism Welcome Center

June 5, 7, 8

100 Stave Branch Road, Paintsville, Kentucky 41256

HOURS: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. for the above dates. No appointments are necessary.

WHO: Homeowners and renters affected by the severe storms in any of the 31 declared counties for Individual Assistance can visit any of the registration support centers. You do NOT have to register in the county in which you live. Additional centers will be available in the coming weeks.

Learn more at FEMA In Person Help Available at Individual Assistance Registration Support Centers | FEMA.gov

Recovery Progress – More than $23.7 million provided in Kentucky

June 23 registration deadline nears/How Individuals Can Get Help from FEMA

  • Contact your insurance company and file a claim for the disaster-caused damage.
  • By law, FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments or assistance from government programs or charities.
  • Take photographs or video of the damage and keep all receipts related to home repair.
  • Individuals who have uninsured or underinsured losses, can contact FEMA online at DisasterAssistance.gov, download the FEMA app and register on your smartphone or  tablet, or call 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585). The toll-free telephone lines operate from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m., seven days a week. Multilingual operators are also available during these hours. The registration deadline is June 23, 2021.
  • Those who use a Relay service, such as a videophone, Innocaption or CapTel, should provide their specific number assigned to that service. It is important that FEMA can contact you. Phone calls from FEMA may come from an unidentified number.
  • After registering, create an account to check the status of your application, view messages from FEMA, update your personal information, and upload important documents.
  • If you have any questions, please contact the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585). The Helpline is the same telephone number as the registration line. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), please call 800-621-3362.

Videos about FEMA Assistance with closed captioning and American Sign Language interpretation available here.

31 counties now eligible for Individual Assistance

Twenty-two more counties in Kentucky have been designated for disaster assistance as part of the federal disaster declaration for the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides that occurred Feb. 27 through March 14. This brings the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to 31: Anderson, Breathitt, Boyd, Clark, Clay, Estill, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greenup, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Warren and Woodford. Find out more at FEMA Approves 22 Additional Counties for Individual Assistance | FEMA.gov

Free Legal Help Available

A free legal aid hotline is now available to eligible survivors of the severe storms in the 31 counties declared for Individual Assistance. Low-income individuals affected by the disaster facing legal issues who are unable to afford a lawyer may call a toll-free legal services hotline at (844) 478-0099. Learn more at Free Legal Help Available for Disaster Survivors | FEMA.gov

For more information on Kentucky’s disaster recovery, visit https://kyem.ky.gov

and www.fema.gov/disaster/4595. You may also follow FEMA on www.facebook.com/fema and Twitter @FEMARegion4.

Last updated June 3, 2021