注册之后,FEMA须进行房屋检查

在向联邦紧急事务管理局(简称为“FEMA”)提出的申请中,您可能已经报告了您的房屋受损情况。如果是这样的话,FEMA 房屋检查员可能会与您联系,并安排预约对您的房屋或公寓损坏情况进行评估。

如果您的住房仅受到最低程度的损害并且您仍然可以住在家里的话,则您在申请 FEMA 援助后,将不会自动为你安排房屋检查。相反,您会收到 FEMA 的一封信,告诉您,如在提出申请援助后又发现灾害对您的房屋造成重大损坏,您可以拨打 FEMA 帮助热线请求检查。

如果有任何问题,您可以随时拨打 FEMA 帮助热线 800-621-3362。文本电话,请拨打:800-462-7585。

灾情检查须知

  • 评估检查通常需要 20-40 分钟完成。请务必守约。如需延期,请通知检查员。
  • 到达现场之后,FEMA 检查员将会展示带照片的FEMA 官方身份证。如果检查员不出示照片身份证的话,请务必要求查看,以防止有人欺诈。
  • 如果您是房主,您将被要求出示所有权证明文件:税单、契约、抵押付款收据或保险单,这些文件上须注明申请人的姓名和受损财产的地址。只是在这些信息之前未被验证的情况下,FEMA检查员才会要求提供此类信息
  • 如果是租房者,您必须出示居住证明:租赁或租金付款收据、水电费账单或其它文件,以确认该住房或公寓是您在 2021 年 9 月 1 日至 3 日期间的主要住所。只是在这些信息之前未被验证的情况下,FEMA检查员才会要求提供此类信息
  • 所有申请人均必须出示有效驾照、护照或其它带照片的身份证明。
  • FEMA 房屋检查员将验证风暴和洪水对您房屋结构、建筑系统和主要电器的损坏情况。检查员将以电子方式将信息输入到手持计算机中。计算机已包含一个文件,其中包含您的注册号和其它信息。检查员的工作是查看您所报告的损坏情况,并予以记录。

FEMA 检查员不会:

  • 决定您是否有资格获得帮助或提供维修估价。
  • 雇用或认可特定的承包商来修理房屋或推荐修理。
  • 询问申请人的银行或其它个人信息。
  • 携带金钱,或索取或接受付款。

 

有沟通障碍的灾难幸存者(耳聋或听力障碍、失明或视力低下的人以及有语言障碍的人士)可以要求提供合理的便利条件来帮助沟通。例如,幸存者可以要求一名美国手语翻译。一旦检查日期预定之后,可以致电 800-621-3362(文本电话用户请拨打 800-462-7585)要求提供合理便利条件。

给申请人的重要提示

  • 您无需等待 FEMA 的房屋检查再对损坏的财产进行必要维修。
  • 对损失情况做详细记录。对财产和主要电器的所有损坏进行拍照,并保留所有与灾害相关的购买和花费收据。
  • 注册后与 FEMA 保持联系。如地址或电话号码发生变化,请尽快通知 FEMA。信息缺失或错误可能会导致延迟进行房屋检查或接受援助。

还有 一 件事

申请联邦援助之后,您可能会收到美国小企业管理局 (Small Business Administration, SBA) 的救灾贷款申请表。完成并提交这一贷款申请非常重要,即使您认为自己可能没有资格获得贷款,或者即使您不需要小企业管理局的低息救灾贷款,也应提交这一申请。您可以在网上填写申请表:https://DisasterLoanAssistance.sba.gov/ela/s/

FEMA 的“其它需求援助 (ONA) 计划”。其它需求援助可能包括补助金,以帮助支付修理或更换家用家具、车辆和一些电器的费用。医疗、牙科和丧葬费用也可能符合其它需求援助计划的条件 fema.gov/disaster/4614。敬请关注FEMA二区的Twitter账户:twitter.com/FEMAregion2

Tags:
最近更新时间 十一月 8, 2021

After Registering, FEMA Housing Inspection is the Next Step

When applying with FEMA, you may have reported damage to your home. If so, a FEMA housing inspector may contact you and schedule an appointment to visit your house or apartment to assess the damage.

If you’re a survivor with minimal damage who can live in your home, you will not automatically be scheduled for a home inspection when applying for FEMA assistance. Instead, you will receive a letter from FEMA explaining that you may call the FEMA Helpline to request an inspection if you find significant disaster-caused damage to your home after applying for assistance.

If you have any questions, you can always contact the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. For TTY call 800-462-7585.

What Should I Expect on the Day of the Inspection?

  • An assessment inspection generally requires 20-40 minutes to complete. It’s important that you keep your appointment or notify the inspector if a postponement is necessary.
  • Upon arrival to conduct the assessment, the FEMA inspector will display an official FEMA photo identification badge. If the photo ID is not visible, it is important that you ask to see it. This helps prevent fraud.
  • If you are a homeowner, you will be asked to show proof of ownership: Tax bill, deed, mortgage payment receipt or insurance policy, with the applicant’s name, and the damaged property’s address on the documentation. Inspectors will only ask for this information if it wasn’t already previously verified by FEMA.
  • If a renter, you must show proof of occupancy: lease or rent payment receipt, utility bill or another document confirming the house or apartment was your primary residence between Sept. 1-3, 2021. Inspectors will only ask for this information if it wasn’t already previously verified by FEMA.
  • All applicants must show a valid driver’s license, passport or other photo identification.
  • The FEMA housing inspector will verify storm and flood damage to your home’s structure, building systems and major appliances. The inspector will enter the information electronically into a hand-held computer. The computer already contains a file with your registration number and other information. The inspector’s job is to look at your reported damage and document it.

FEMA inspectors do not:

  • Determine your eligibility for assistance or offer repair estimates.
  • Hire or endorse specific contractors to repair homes or recommend repairs.
  • Ask applicants for banking or other personal information.
  • Carry money, or solicit or accept payment.

Disaster survivors with communication-related disabilities—those who are deaf or hard of hearing, blind or have low vision, and those with speech disabilities—may request reasonable accommodations to aid in communication. For instance, survivors may request an American Sign Language interpreter. Accommodations can be requested by calling 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585) once the assessment inspection is scheduled.

Important Tips for Applicants

  • You do not need to wait for a FEMA housing inspection before making necessary repairs to your damaged property.
  • Document losses thoroughly. Take pictures of all damage to property and major appliances, and keep receipts of all disaster-related purchases and expenses.
  • Stay in touch with FEMA after registration. If addresses or phone numbers change, update FEMA as soon as possible. Missing or erroneous information could result in delays in getting a home inspection or receiving assistance.

One More Thing

Once you have applied for federal assistance, you may receive a disaster loan application from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). It is very important to complete and submit the loan application, even if you think you may not qualify for a loan or even if you don’t need a low-interest SBA disaster loan. You can fill out the application online at https://DisasterLoanAssistance.sba.gov/ela/s/.

In fact, homeowners and renters who do not qualify for a loan from SBA may be referred to FEMA’s Other Needs Assistance (ONA) program. ONA may include grants to help pay for repair or replacement of household furniture, vehicles and some appliances. Medical, dental and funeral expenses may also be eligible under the ONA program.

Tags:
Last updated November 8, 2021