Roberts County, South Dakota Appeal Period


New Flood Risk Maps are being finalized for Roberts County South Dakota. Individuals have until April 17, 2023 to submit an appeal regarding any scientific errors related to determinations made on the new maps.

Date: January 17, 2023 - April 17, 2023

Important Date

Event Details

Roberts County’s flood insurance rate map update is nearing completion. The new maps will provide Roberts County with more accurate flood risk information that can help local officials and residents make informed decisions about reducing flood risks and purchasing flood insurance.

The mapping project is a joint effort between Roberts County, Cities of Peever, Rosholt, Sisseton, and Wilmot, Towns of Claire City, Corona, New Effington, Ortley, Summit, and White Rock, and Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate Tribe. It is part of a nationwide effort led by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to increase local knowledge of flood risks and support actions to address and reduce those risks.

Before new flood insurance rate maps become effective, there is a 90-day appeal period during which local residents and business owners can provide additional data for consideration before the maps are final. This appeal period starts January 17, 2023.

Community officials encourage residents and business owners to review the proposed flood insurance rate maps to learn about local flood risks, potential future flood insurance requirements, and any concerns or questions about the information provided.

You may submit an appeal package during the 90-day appeal period. The sole basis of the appeal must include the possession of knowledge or information indicating that the flood hazard determinations proposed by FEMA are scientifically and/or technically incorrect.

For further details on this process, visit To view preliminary mapping, visit FEMA’s Preliminary National Flood Hazard Layer (, or contact your local floodplain administrator. Preliminary mapping may also be viewed on FEMA’s Map Service Center (

Event Contact

Jim Pearson – Director of Emergency Management – or (605) 880-2620

Madi Pluss – FEMA Risk Map Specialist –

Last updated January 17, 2023