President Donald J. Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for South Carolina

Release Date: mayo 2, 2020

WASHINGTON – FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of South Carolina and ordered federal aid to supplement state, tribal, and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, tornadoes and straight-line winds from April 12 to April 13, 2020.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Aiken, Colleton, Hampton, Marlboro, Oconee, Orangeburg, and Pickens counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is also available to the state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes, and straight-line winds in Barnwell, Colleton, Georgetown, Hampton, Oconee, Orangeburg and Pickens counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Allan Jarvis has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Jarvis said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated area can begin applying for assistance by registering online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-3362 or 1-800-462-7585 TTY. The toll-free telephone



numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

###

