Main Content

Initial Notice

Date of Notice: 
Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Billing Code 9111-23-P


Federal Emergency Management Agency

[Internal Agency Docket No. FEMA-3301-EM]

Docket ID FEMA-2008-0018

Arkansas; Emergency and Related Determinations

AGENCY:? Federal Emergency Management Agency, DHS.

ACTION:? Notice.

SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of an emergency for the State of Arkansas (FEMA-3301-EM), dated January 28, 2009, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 28, 2009.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:? Peggy Miller, Disaster Assistance Directorate, Federal Emergency Manage?ment Agency, 500 C Street, SW, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-3886.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:? Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated January 28, 2009, the President issued an emergency declaration under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121-5207 (the Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the emergency conditions in certain areas of the State of Arkansas resulting from a severe winter storm beginning on January 26, 2009, and continuing, of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant an emergency declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. ?? 5121-5207 (the Stafford Act).? Therefore, I declare that such an emergency exists in the State of Arkansas.

You are authorized to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in the designated areas.? Specifically, you are authorized to provide assistance for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Category B), limited to direct Federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program.? This assistance excludes regular time costs for subgrantees? regular employees.? In addition, you are authorized to provide such other forms of assistance under Title V of the Stafford Act as you may deem appropriate.

Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Public Assistance will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes such amounts as you find necessary for Federal emergency assistance and administrative expenses.?

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Administrator, Department of Homeland Security, under Executive Order 12148, as amended, W. Michael Moore, of FEMA is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared emergency.

The following areas of the State of Arkansas have been designated as adversely affected by this declared emergency:

Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Crittenden, Cross, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, Newton, Perry, Poinsett, Polk, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, St. Francis, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, Washington, White, Woodruff, and Yell Counties for emergency protective measures (Category B), including direct Federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program.

The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting ...

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08