Main Content

Initial Notice

Date of Notice: 
Tuesday, April 17, 2001
Billing Code 6718-02P



Mississippi; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY:	Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

ACTION:	Notice.

SUMMARY:  This is a notice of the Presidential 
declaration of a major disaster for the State of 
Mississippi (FEMA-1365-DR), dated April 17, 2001,
and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE:  April 17, 2001

Response  and Recovery Directorate, Federal Emergency 
Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-3772.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:  Notice is hereby given that, 
in a letter dated April 17, 2001, the President declared 
a major disaster under the authority of the Robert T. 
Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 
42 USC 5121, as follows:

	I have determined that the damage in certain areas 
	of the State of Mississippi, resulting from severe 
	storms and flooding on April 3-5, 2001, is of 
	sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major 
	disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford 
	Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 USC 
	5121 (Stafford Act). I, therefore, declare that such 
	a major disaster exists in the State of Mississippi.

	In order to provide Federal assistance, you are 
	hereby authorized to allocate from funds available 
	for these purposes, such amounts as you find necessary 
	for Federal disaster assistance and administrative 

	You are authorized to provide Individual Assistance, 
	Public Assistance, and Hazard Mitigation in the 
	designated areas. Consistent with the requirement 
	that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal 
	funds provided under the Stafford Act for Public 
	Assistance or Hazard Mitigation will be limited to 
	75 percent of the total eligible costs.

	Further, you are authorized to make changes to this 
	declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford 

The time period prescribed for the implementation of section 
310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for Public Facility 
and Public Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 5153, shall be for a
period not to exceed six months after the date of this 

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority 
vested in the Director of the Federal Emergency Management 
Agency under Executive Order 12148, I hereby appoint John D. 
Hannah of the Federal Emergency Management Agency to act as 
the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of 
Mississippi to have been affected adversely by this declared 
major disaster:

	Attala, Holmes, and Lee Counties for Individual Assistance.

	Attala, Holmes, Leake, Lee, and Neshoba Counties for Public 

All counties within the State of Mississippi are eligible 
to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant 

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance 
Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing 
funds: 83.537, Community Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown 
Fund Program; 83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, Disaster 
Legal Services Program; 83.541, Disaster Unemployment 
Assistance (DUA); 83.542, Fire Suppression Assistance;
83.543, Individual and Family Grant (IFG) Program; 
83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 83.545, Disaster 
Housing Program; 83.548, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.)

Joe M. Allbaugh,

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08