alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Deutsch. Visit the Deutsch page for resources in that language.

Eligibility Requirements for Exercise Support

All exercise support request must be sponsored by an SLTT government organization.

Nonprofit, private sector, and federal entities can submit requests on the condition that the support request is co-sponsored by an SLTT government organization. Academic institutions which are state-funded can receive support without a co-sponsor. Private academic institutions must have a request that is co-sponsored by an SLTT government organization.

All support requests must be reviewed by the appropriate FEMA Regional Exercise Officer (REO) prior to submission.

  • Discussion-based exercises support will only be provided for with a conduct date of January 2, 2024, or later.
  • Operations-based exercises support will only be provided for with a conduct date of April 17, 2024, or later.

Is An Exercise Series Eligible for Support?

It is possible to receive support for an exercise series. You can choose to either submit multiple exercises from a series to the same round or split submissions over multiple rounds depending on development timeline. You are required to submit separate Exercise Support Requests for each exercise in your series.

alert - info

It is not guaranteed that every exercise submitted as part of a series will be accepted for NED support.

Can I Receive NED Support to Develop Real-World After-Action Reports?

Real-world After-Action Report development is not eligible for NED support; any submitted support requests for real-world After-Action Reports will not be considered.

FEMA Regional Exercise Officers

Exercise sponsors should coordinate closely with their appropriate Regional Exercise Officer (REO) throughout the exercise support process.

RegionRegional Exercise Officer States/Territories
Region 01Kerri-Ann TrepanierConnecticut, Maine,
Massachusetts, New
Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont
Region 02Devin KerinsNew Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands
Region 03 Patricia Gardner Delaware, Maryland,
Pennsylvania, Virginia, District of Columbia and West Virginia
Region 04 Jimmie Bell Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North
Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee
Region 05 Marc Chmielewski Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio and Wisconsin
Region 06 Justin Breeding Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas
Region 07 John Bissen Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska
Region 08 Andrew Batten Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming
Region 09 Geoffrey Krueger Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Guam, American Samoa, Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands , Republic of Marshall Islands and Federated States of Micronesia
Region 10 Casey Broom Alaska, Idaho, Oregon and Washington