2013 Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience announced

Main Content

From Philip A. McNamara, Assistant Secretary for Intergovernmental Affairs, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

On behalf of Assistant Secretary Phil McNamara, the Office of Intergovernmental Affairs is pleased to provide you with information related to this year’s nomination period for the Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience. The Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience is the Department of Homeland Security’s national resilience award for superior leadership and innovation by a non-governmental individual or organization who exemplifies the qualities and achievements of Rick Rescorla.

Richard "Rick" Rescorla was an innovator and a leader in resilience. Born in Britain and a naturalized U.S. citizen in 1967, he was a decorated Vietnam U.S. Army veteran. On 9/11, he was Vice President of Security for Morgan Stanley at their Headquarters in the World Trade Center. He personally led a massive evacuation of Morgan Stanley's 2,700 employees located in World Trade Center Tower 2, the "South Tower." All but six of Morgan Stanley's workers in the South Tower survived. Rick Rescorla was one of those who died. He was last seen walking back up the stairs to rescue more persons in the building.

Rescorla's success on September 11 in saving thousands of lives was not luck, but the result of his planning, determination, and skill. From the time of the 1993 bombing in the basement of the World Trade Center, which he had predicted in a letter to the New York Port Authority, he drilled Morgan Stanley employees in evacuation and other safety procedures. Mr. Rescorla's dedication to the safety of those under his responsibility, and the skill with which he exercised his responsibilities, are the personification of the highest standards of resilience.

This year’s nomination period is from April 1 to May 1. To be eligible for the award, the nominee must be an individual legally residing in the United States or its territories who is not an employee of a government entity – including federal, state, local, tribal or territorial governments. Volunteer first responders are eligible, including firefighters, emergency medical providers, and law enforcement personnel who serve on a volunteer basis.  Eligible nominees may also be organizations other than government entities based in the United States or its territories. Eligible organizations include both for-profit and not-for-profit organizations.

The 2013 Rescorla Nomination Form and the DHS Press Release announcing this year’s nomination period are contained within the hyperlinks.

Please distribute this information as widely as appropriate. The nomination forms and supporting materials must be returned to RescorlaAward no later than May 31 in order to be considered for recognition in 2013.

If you have any questions related to any content in this message, please contact IGA by email, DHS.IGA, or at 202-282-9310 and we will assist you with obtaining the information required.

Last Updated: 
07/24/2014 - 16:00
Back to Top