Severe Repetitive Loss Program

Main Content

Severe Repetitive Loss Program

The Severe Repetitive Loss (SRL) grant program was authorized by the Bunning-Bereuter-Blumenauer Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2004, which amended the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968 to provide funding to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to severe repetitive loss structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program.

An SRL property is defined as a residential property that is covered under an NFIP flood insurance policy and:
  • That has at least four NFIP claim payments (including building and contents) over $5,000 each, and the cumulative amount of such claims payments exceeds $20,000; or
  • For which at least two separate claims payments (building payments only) have been made with the cumulative amount of the building portion of such claims exceeding the market value of the building.
  • For both (a) and (b) above, at least two of the referenced claims must have occurred within any ten-year period, and must be greater than 10 days apart.

***SRL Updates

07/2013 - The Biggert Waters Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2012 eliminated the SRL program.  For more information, please refer to the Fiscal Year 2013 Unified Hazard Mitigation Assistance Guidance.

SRL Guiding Documents

For grants awarded during past Fiscal Years, please click on the appropriate link below:

Additional SRL Resources

The SRL Tools below have been created for State and Local Governments to implement the SRL Program:

Last Updated: 
03/16/2015 - 17:05
Back to Top