Region X: Councils and Committees

Main Content

Councils and Committees

Region X

Regional Advisory Council (RAC)

The RAC brings together experienced representatives from a variety of backgrounds to improve the overall emergency systems within FEMA Region X.  In this manner, the Regional Advisory Council provides a multi-jurisdictional forum that represents emergency management preparedness, response and recovery, and acts collectively on behalf of those interests.

Regional Interagency Steering Committee (RISC)

The RISC is designed to foster partnerships between agencies and to coordinate interagency and intergovernmental planning and response to disasters. Representatives from FEMA Region X and partners from other federal agencies meet regularly to enhance the federal, state and local governments' ability to work in concert, so we are all on the same page when it comes time to respond to disasters.

In each of the 10 standard Federal regions, a Regional Interagency Steering Committee (RISC) exists to coordinate interagency and intergovernmental issues related to disaster planning and operations.  Federal agencies designate representatives to serve on the RISC and participate in regional preparedness activities.  Additionally, State emergency management agencies are encouraged to send representatives to RISC meetings and to participate in regional exercise and training activities.

Last Updated: 
07/24/2014 - 16:00
Back to Top