Region VI Floodplain Management & Insurance Branch

Main Content


The Floodplain Management and Insurance Branch administers the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) in Region VI.  These programs focus on state and local building codes and zoning regulations to assure that development and substantial improvements located in the identified floodplains are constructed to minimize future flood damage. FMIB works closely with our States' Floodplain Managment Associations to support training and outreach. To learn more about flood maps visit the FEMA Map Service Center, RiskMap6 and Texas Coastal Mapping websites.

The NFIP is aimed at reducing the impact of flooding on private and public structures.  This is achieved by encouraging communities to adopt and enforce floodplain management regulations, and by providing affordable flood insurance for property owners.  Under the insurance part of the NFIP, this office provides oversight of flood insurance training programs and outreach efforts for insurance agents, lenders and property owners throughout Region VI. 

These efforts help mitigate the effects of flooding on new and improved structures.  Overall, the program reduces the socio-economic impact of disasters by promoting sound land use development and the purchase and retention of insurance in general and National Flood Insurance in particular.

Program areas currently administered by the Floodpliain Management and Insurance Branch in Region VI include the following:

National Flood Insurance Program-Compliance

The U.S. Congress established the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) with the passage of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968 and has been amended several times.  The NFIP is a federal program enabling property owners in participating communities to purchase insurance as protection against flood losses in exchange for State and community floodplain managment regulations that reduce future flood damges.

Federal Flood Insurance

Flood insurance administered under the NFIP is written by state-licensed property insurance brokers and agents.  Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration (FIMA), a part of FEMA, provides rule-making and rates to insurance companies who partner through the Write Your Own program as a cooperative undertaking of the insurance industry and FEMA.  The WYO program allows participating property and casualty insurance companies to write and service the Standard Flood Insurance Policy in their own names. The companies receive and expense allowance for policies written and claims processed while the Federal government retains responsibiilty fo underwriting losses.  The WYO program operates as part of the NFIP and is subject to its rules and regulations.  More flood insurance information can be found at FloodSmart.

Community Rating System

The objective of the Community Rating System (CRS) is to suport the goals of the NFIP.  To do this, CRS provides insurance premium rate reductions to policyolders in recognition that their community's floodplain management activites work toward its three goals: 

  • Reduce flood damage to insurable property;
  • Strengthen and support the insurance aspects of the NFIP, and
  • Encourage a comprehensive approach to floodplain management
 The Community Assistance Program-State Support Services Element (CAP-SSSE) program derives its authority from the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968, as amended, the Flood Disaster Protection Act of 1973 and from 44 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Parts 59 and 60.  This program grants funding to States to provide technical assistance to communities in the NFIP and to evaluate community performance in implementing NFIP floodplain management activities. In this way CAP-SSSE helps to:
  • Ensure that the flood loss reduction goals of the NFIP are met,
  • Build State and community floodplain management expertise and capability, and
  • Leverage State knowledge and expertise in working with their communities.


Last Updated: 
07/24/2014 - 16:00
Back to Top