Eligible Facilities

Main Content

With certain exceptions, an eligible facility is any building, works, system, or equipment that is built or manufactured, or any improved and maintained natural feature that is owned by an eligible public or private nonprofit (PNP) applicant.

To be eligible a facility must:

  • Be the responsibility of an eligible applicant.

  • Be located in a designated disaster area.

  • Not be under the specific authority of another Federal agency.

  • Be in active use at the time of the disaster.

Examples of eligible public facilities include:

  • Roads (non-Federal aid)

  • Sewage Treatment Plants

  • Airports

  • Irrigation Channels

  • Schools

  • Buildings

  • Bridges and Culverts

  • Utilities

Eligible private non-profit facilities include:

  • Educational facilities (classrooms, supplies, and equipment)

  • Gas, Water, and Power systems

  • Emergency facilities (fire stations and rescue squads)

  • Medical facilities (hospitals and outpatient centers)

  • Custodial care facilities

  • Other Essential government services (to be eligible these PNP facilities must be open to the general public)


  1. Alternative use facilities
    If a facility was being used for purposes other than those for which it was designed, restoration will only be eligible to the extent necessary to restore the immediate pre-disaster alternative purpose.

  2. Inactive facilities
    Facilities that were not in active use at the time of the disaster are not eligible except in those instances where the facilities were only temporarily inoperative for repairs or remodeling, or where active use by the applicant was firmly established in an approved budget, or where the owner can demonstrate to FEMA's satisfaction an intent to begin use within a reasonable time.

Last Updated: 
02/25/2015 - 11:55
Back to Top