Main Content

PPD-8 News, Updates & Announcements

Main Content

The purpose of this page is to provide updates on the doctrine, tools, and guidance released by the National Integration Center. The National Incident Management System is intended to be used by the whole community. The intended audience for this page is individuals, families, communities, the private and nonprofit sectors, faith-based organizations, and local, state, tribal, territorial, insular area, and Federal governments.

Latest Updates

August 3, 2015: Share your insights on the Federal Interagency Operational Plans Update

FEMA is working with its Federal partners to update the Federal Interagency Operational Plans (FIOPs). The FIOPs, one for each preparedness mission area, describe how the Federal government aligns resources and delivers core capabilities. Each FIOP describes the concept of operations for integrating and synchronizing existing national-level Federal capabilities to support local, state, tribal, territorial, insular area, and Federal plans.

FEMA is seeking input from the whole community on four FIOPs, which cover the mission areas of Protection, Mitigation, Response and Recovery.  The Prevention FIOP is Unclassified and For Official Use Only (FOUO)/Law Enforcement Sensitive (LES), Restricted Access and therefore available through separate, more appropriate communication means. This update of the FIOPs focuses on discrete, critical content revisions, and confirming edits as a result of comments received on the National Preparedness Goal refresh effort. Additional changes in the current draft of the FIOPs are the result of the lessons learned from implementing the FIOPs and recent events, as well as the findings of the National Preparedness Report.

The comment period for the FIOPs begins August 3, 2015 and ends September 2, 2015. All comments should be submitted via email to using the provided matrix below. 

FEMA will also host a number of National Engagement Webinars to provide stakeholders with additional details on the FIOPs update effort.  The Webinars will take place August 17-26, 2015. Webinar details will be announced at a later date.

Thank you for your continued input and support.

July 30, 2014: National Protection Framework Released

The federal government and its partners released the National Protection Framework, which describes the capabilities necessary to secure the homeland against acts of terrorism and manmade or natural disasters. We encourage you to read the Framework to see how you can apply the concepts to your own preparedness activities.

July 30, 2014: Federal Interagency Operational Plans Released

The federal government released three of five Federal Interagency Operational Plans (FIOPs), which describe how the Federal government aligns resources and delivers core capabilities to reach our shared National Preparedness Goal. The three FIOPs released today are for the Mitigation, Response, and Recovery preparedness mission areas and link together the range of activities conducted by all of the Federal departments and agencies involved in national preparedness.

February 11, 2014: Resource Typing Library Tool and Incident Resource Inventory System 5.0 Released

FEMA has released the Resource Typing Library Tool (RTLT) and the Incident Resource Inventory System (IRIS). Both tools are no cost, user-friendly, and designed to assist communities in inventorying resources. 

August 23, 2013: Updated Comprehensive Preparedness Guide 201: Threat and Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment Released

FEMA has released Comprehensive Preparedness Guide (CPG) 201, Second Edition, which provides communities additional guidance for conducting a Threat and Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment (THIRA). The First Edition of this Guide, released in April 2012, presented the basic steps of the THIRA process. We encourage you to read CPG 201, Second Edition to see how you can identify capability targets and resource requirements necessary to address anticipated and unanticipated risks.

May 30, 2013: 2013 National Preparedness Report Released

The federal government and its partners released the 2013 National Preparedness Report (NPR). The NPR is an annual status report on the nation's progress toward reaching the National Preparedness Goal of a secure and resilient nation.

May 6, 2013: National Prevention, Mitigation and Response Frameworks Released

The federal government and its partners released three of five National Planning Frameworks, which outline how the whole community can work together to achieve national preparedness. The three Frameworks released today are for the Prevention, Mitigation and Response preparedness mission areas. We encourage you to read each of the Frameworks to see how you can apply the concepts to your own preparedness activities. 

December 6, 2011: National Preparedness System Description

The National Preparedness System Description is the second deliverable required under Presidential Policy Directive / PPD-8: National Preparedness. The National Preparedness System Description concisely describes current efforts and how we will build on those efforts, many of which are established in the Post-Katrina Emergency Management Reform Act and other statutes, to build, sustain and deliver the core capabilities needed to achieve the National Preparedness Goal.

Specifically, it identifies six components to improve national preparedness for a wide range of threats and hazards, such as acts of terrorism, cyber attacks, pandemics and catastrophic natural disasters. The system description explains how as a nation we will build on current efforts, many of which are already established in the law and have been in use for many years. These six components include:

  • Identifying and assessing risks;
  • Estimating capability requirements;
  • Building or sustaining capabilities;
  • Developing and implementing plans to deliver those capabilities;
  • Validating and monitoring progress made towards achieving the National Preparedness Goal; and
  • Reviewing and updating efforts to promote continuous improvement.

September 30, 2011: National Preparedness Goal, First Edition

The National Preparedness Goal is the first deliverable required under PPD-8. The National Preparedness Goal sets the vision for preparedness nationwide and identifies the core capabilities and capability targets necessary to achieve that vision across the five mission areas: prevention, protection, mitigation, response and recovery.

The first edition of the National Preparedness Goal builds extensively on prior work of various stakeholder groups from around the nation, draws upon lessons learned from past large-scale and catastrophic events and represents input from preparedness partners from all levels of government, non-profit organizations, the private sector and individuals.

September 23, 2011: Final Disaster Recovery Framework Released

Today, the White House announced the final National Disaster Recovery Framework on its blog. The National Disaster Reovery Framework is the first framework published under the PPD-8, summarizing the way ahead for disaster recovery.

Last Updated: 
08/03/2015 - 16:15