Nearly $16.5 Million Approved for Mississippi Disaster Survivors

Main Content
Release date: 
June 13, 2014
Release Number: 

JACKSON, Miss. Federal assistance approved for disaster survivors in 12 Mississippi counties has reached almost $16.5 million.

Here is a summary through Thursday, June 12, of all federal assistance to individuals and households in the 12 counties designated for FEMA Individual Assistance. The severe storms, tornadoes and flooding occurred from April 28 through May 3, 2014.

  • Nearly $16.5 million in total federal disaster assistance has been approved by FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration.
  • Nearly $11.6 million in low-interest disaster loans has been approved by SBA for 170 homeowners, renters and businesses.
  • More than $4.9 million in FEMA Individual Assistance grants has been approved to help Mississippi disaster survivors recover, including:
    • Almost $3.7 million approved for housing grants, including short-term rental assistance and home repair costs.
    • Nearly $1.3 million approved to help cover other essential disaster-related needs such as medical and dental expenses and household possessions. Included is approval of assistance with funeral expenses for 11 disaster-related deaths. Other funeral expense requests are pending.
  • More than 5,000 people have contacted FEMA for help or information regarding disaster assistance.
    • In addition to FEMA grants for individuals and families, other forms of disaster assistance are provided by SBA and other partner agencies such as the American Red Cross and the Salvation Army. FEMA refers some survivors to those agencies.
    • All businesses that contact FEMA are also referred to SBA.
    • Others may be interested in other programs such as disaster unemployment assistance and disaster legal services.
  • 2,705 home inspections completed.
  • More than 4,700 visits to disaster recovery centers by people affected by the disaster.
  • FEMA Disaster Survivor Assistance crews have visited more than 11,000 dwellings and assisted more than 7,600 survivors.

Monday, June 30, 2014, is the deadline to register with FEMA for individual assistance and to submit an SBA disaster home loan application.

Disaster survivors in Itawamba, Jones, Leake, Lee, Lowndes, Madison, Montgomery, Rankin, Simpson, Warren, Wayne and Winston counties may be eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance program.

Individuals and households in those counties can register for FEMA Individual Assistance online at, via smartphone or tablet at or by calling the FEMA helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362). People who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY should call 800-462-7585. Lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (central time) and assistance is available in multiple languages. FEMA assistance does not affect benefits from other federal programs such as Social Security, SNAP or Medicaid and is not considered taxable income.

For additional information about SBA low-interest disaster loans, contact the SBA Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling 800-659-2955 or TTY 800-877-8339, emailing or visiting

SBA disaster loan outreach centers are now open in Louisville and Tupelo at the former disaster recovery center locations. Survivors who need help completing their SBA disaster loan applications can visit the centers to talk with SBA representatives and get help with their applications. MEMA and FEMA will also have representatives at the centers to answer questions about the FEMA disaster assistance process. The disaster loan outreach centers are open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday – Friday at the following locations:

Lee County

Old Tupelo Water and Light

320 Court St.

Tupelo, MS 38804

Winston County

Georgia Pacific

826 S. Church Ave.

Louisville, MS 39339


For more information on Mississippi disaster recovery, go to Visit the MEMA site at or on Facebook at

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards. 

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). If you have a speech disability or hearing loss and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585 directly; if you use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 800-621-3362.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for childcare, medical, dental expenses and/or funeral expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, those who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, transportation, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.


Last Updated: 
June 13, 2014 - 15:07
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top