Main Content

Bullock County in Alabama Now Eligible for FEMA Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 5, 2014
Release Number: 

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – County and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations in Bullock County, Alabama may now apply for federal disaster assistance under the Public Assistance program for eligible response and recovery expenses related to this spring’s violent weather.

Bullock County was added Thursday to the May 2 major disaster declaration issued by President Barack Obama for the April 28 to May 5 severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding that struck Alabama.

Bullock County and local governments and certain nonprofit entities located in the county are now eligible to apply for all seven categories (Categories A-G)  listed under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Public Assistance program.

Categories A and B cover debris removal and emergency protective measures such as search and rescue and provision of shelters or emergency care, while categories C through G include more permanent work on infrastructure, such as roads, bridges, public buildings and contents, as well as water facilities, public utilities and parks.

Under the Public Assistance program, FEMA reimburses applicants a minimum of 75 percent of their eligible expenses. The remaining 25 percent non-federal share comes from state and local sources. The state manages the grants for all projects.

The 21 total counties in Alabama now eligible for Public Assistance categories A through G are Baldwin, Blount, Bullock, Butler, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, DeKalb, Etowah, Franklin, Geneva, Houston, Jefferson, Lamar, Lee, Limestone, Mobile, Perry, Pickens, Tuscaloosa and Washington.

More information about FEMA’s Public Assistance program is available at

Last Updated: 
June 5, 2014 - 18:44