Main Content

Local, State and Federal Partners Working Closely, Individually With SR 530 Slide Survivors as Recovery Continues in Washington

Release date: 
April 7, 2014
Release Number: 

BOTHELL, Wash. – Local, State, and Federal partners continue working one-on-one with survivors of the State Route 530 Slide in Washington to ensure they receive all of the disaster assistance for which they may qualify.

To that end, Disaster Survivor Assistance Teams with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) – including bereavement and program area specialists – are meeting in person with survivors to learn more about their short-term and long-term needs due to the slide.

“We’re working with FEMA to quickly bring the next phase of federal and state assistance to help survivors and affected families. This aid is part of the overall resources they will need to start their long-term recovery,” said State Coordinating Officer Kurt Hardin.

Federal disaster assistance was made available to individuals in Snohomish County –

including the Sauk-Suiattle, Stillaguamish, and Tulalip Tribes – on April 2 when President Obama declared a major disaster for the State of Washington.

“We are determined to provide as much personalized attention as possible here to survivors of this heart-breaking tragedy,” said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Michael J. Hall. “Our goal is, when desired, to meet personally with each individual – whether they lost a loved one, their home or were severely impacted in some other way.”

Three Disaster Recovery Centers are open to assist survivors in Arlington, Darrington and near Oso. Local, State and Federal disaster recovery specialists are meeting face-to-face with disaster assistance applicants at the centers. Representatives of local, State and Federal agencies and nonprofits such as the U.S. Internal Revenue Service and the American Red Cross will be available to work directly with survivors. Representatives with the U.S. Small Business Administration will be at the centers to explain about low-interest disaster loans for qualifying homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes.    

Before visiting a center, applicants are encouraged to apply for disaster assistance. Registration is possible online or by phone or mobile device. To register online, visit: or To register by phone, call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Survivors who use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 4 a.m. to 8 p.m. PDT, seven days a week.

For individuals who have hearing and visual disabilities or are deaf, Disaster Recovery Centers can typically provide such accommodations as: 

• Captioned telephones, which transcribe spoken words into text
• American Sign Language interpreters, available upon request
• Magnifiers and assistive listening devices
• 711-Relay or Video Relay Services

Locations and hours of operation of the centers are as follows:

Oso Fire Station (Snohomish County Fire Protection District 25 - parking lot)

21824 State Route 530 NE

Arlington, WA 98223


Arlington Public Works Administration-Stillaguamish Conference Room

154 West Cox Ave.

Arlington, WA 98223


Darrington Ranger District Office (Parking Lot)

1405 Emens Ave. North

Darrington, WA 98241


Hours of Operation

Opening Day (Monday, April 7) – 1 p.m. – 8 p.m.

Monday through Friday, 11 a.m. – 8 p.m.

Saturday, 11 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Closed on Sundays


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Stay informed of FEMA’s activities online: videos and podcasts are available at and; Follow us on Twitter at and on Facebook at

The Washington Military Department’s Emergency Management Division is responsible for administering federal disaster recovery programs on behalf of the state. The Department’s mission is to minimize the impact of emergencies and disasters on people, property, environment, and the economy of Washington State at the region; provide trained and ready forces for state and federal missions; and provide structured alternative education opportunities for at-risk youth.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations. For information about SBA programs, applicants can go to or call (800) 659-2955 (TTY 1-800-977-8339).






Last Updated: 
April 14, 2014 - 12:37
State/Tribal Government or Region: