Main Content
Release date: 
August 30, 2013
Release Number: 

Albany, NY– The deadline to submit Requests for Public Assistance (RPAs) for damage sustained during the summer floods has been extended to Sept. 10 for all 16 counties included in the federal disaster declaration.

State government agencies, local governments and certain private, nonprofit organizations suffering facility damage from the storms and subsequent flooding between June 26 and July 4, 2013 can file Requests for Public Assistance with the State of New York.

Public Assistance (PA) is a program administered by New York State and funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Eligible applicants in Allegany, Broome, Chautauqua, Chenango, Clinton, Cortland, Essex, Delaware, Franklin, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Otsego, and Warren counties need to submit RPAs by Sept. 10.

Private nonprofit agencies providing what are defined as critical services to the community may also request reimbursement of costs incurred for emergency work performed as a result of the storms.

Facilities that provide critical services include:

•Hospitals and other medical-treatment facilities;
•Fire, police and other emergency services;
•Power, water and sewer utilities; and
•Educational institutions.

“I strongly encourage eligible nonprofit organizations to apply,” said Regis Phelan, FEMA federal coordinating officer. “FEMA is committed to assisting qualifying nonprofits to help them get back to the business of helping others.”

Private nonprofits that provide what are defined as essential, governmental-type services to the community may also be eligible for PA to fund emergency work. Private nonprofits in this category are first required to apply for a loan from the U.S. Small Business Administration (the RPA can be submitted concurrently or before applying to SBA): If the loan is denied, the PNP may request Public Assistance from FEMA if a request is on file with the state.

Facilities that provide essential services include:

•Libraries, museums and zoos;
•Community centers;
•Disability advocacy and service providers;
•Homeless shelters and rehabilitation facilities; and
•Senior citizen centers and day-care centers.

FEMA reimburses no less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for emergency protective measures and permanent restoration costs, including debris removal and infrastructure repair or replacement. FEMA specialists are available to help nonprofits through the application process.

To apply, a private nonprofit organization must have a ruling letter from the U.S. Internal Revenue Service or provide other evidence from the state that it is a nonprofit organization doing business under state law.
RPA forms are available at:

Potential local government and other municipal applicants should contact their county emergency manager for additional guidance on submitting Requests for Public Assistance. For more information on eligibility and forms, visit

Private nonprofits should submit completed RPAs to the New York State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services (DHSES) via e-mail to John Grubsick at, or by fax to 518-322-4984. 

Last Updated: 
August 30, 2013 - 10:57
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top