Main Content


Main Content
Release date: 
July 18, 2013
Release Number: 
DR 4117 NR018

OKLAHOMA CITY – A July 18 amendment to the major disaster declaration for Oklahoma now includes public assistance funding for four additional counties following the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding that impacted the area on May 18-June 2.

This most recent amendment adds Craig, Haskell, McIntosh and Ottawa counties for both emergency and permanent work categories after damage assessments were concluded by officials from the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

     Emergency work may include debris removal and emergency protective measures, while permanent work may include repairs to road systems,
     bridges, water control facilities and public buildings, contents and utilities, and repairs to parks and recreational facilities.

     Types of entities that may be eligible for Public Assistance include:

     State government agencies;
  ●   Local governments and special districts;
  ●   Private nonprofit organizations or institutions that own or operate facilities that are open to the general public; and
  ●   Federally recognized tribes.

     Sixteen counties – Atoka, Canadian, Cleveland, Coal, Hughes, Latimer, Lincoln, McClain, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, 
     Pittsburg, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha and Seminole – were previously made eligible for public assistance.

For more information on Oklahoma disaster recovery, visit the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management site at or




Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) prepares for, responds to, recovers from and mitigates against emergencies and disasters. The department delivers service to Oklahoma cities, towns and counties through a network of more than 350 local emergency managers.

Last Updated: 
July 19, 2013 - 11:52
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top