Main Content
Release date: 
July 1, 2013
Release Number: 
DR 4117 NR014

OKLAHOMA CITY – A June 28 amendment to the major disaster declaration for Oklahoma, following the devastating May tornadoes, severe storms, straight line winds, and flooding now includes public assistance funding for 16 counties.

The declaration’s original five counties – Lincoln, Oklahoma, McClain, Cleveland and Pottawatomie – which were initially approved for debris removal and emergency protective measures, are now eligible for all categories of permanent work.  The recent amendment also added Atoka, Canadian, Coal, Hughes, Latimer, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pushmataha and Seminole counties for both emergency and permanent work categories.

Emergency work may include debris removal and emergency protective measures, while permanent work may include repairs to road systems, bridges, water control facilities and public buildings, contents and utilities, and repairs to parks and recreational facilities.

Types of entities that may be eligible for Public Assistance include:

  • State government agencies;
  • Local governments and special districts;
  • Private nonprofit organizations or institutions that own or operate facilities that are open to the general public; and
  • Federally recognized tribes.

For more information on Oklahoma disaster recovery, visit the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management site at oem.ok.gov or fema.gov/disaster/4117.


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) prepares for, responds to, recovers from and mitigates against emergencies and disasters. The department delivers service to Oklahoma cities, towns and counties through a network of more than 350 local emergency managers.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards. Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/#!/femaregion6 and the FEMA Blog at http://blog.fema.gov.

Last Updated: 
July 2, 2013 - 14:13
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top